Who Makes Your Child's Baby Formula? A Full Guide!
We investigated who actually manufactures infant formulas sold in the United States. Here's what we found!

Mommyhood101 independently curates baby gear to inform decisions; AI may assist with editing. If you buy through links on our site, we may earn a commission.
If you've ever wondered whether the company named on your baby's formula can is the company that actually made it, the answers can be surprisingly complicated.
That's because an infant formula can have a brand owner, formula developer, manufacturer, contract manufacturer, packaging facility, and distributor, and those can all be different companies.
Our goal with this article is transparency, we believe parents should be able to know who actually makes the formula they're feeding their baby!
-
- The Short Answer
- Major U.S. Formula Manufacturers
- Who Makes Each Infant Formula?
- Specialty & Hypoallergenic Formulas
- Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals
- Abbott Nutrition
- Mead Johnson/Reckitt
- Bobbie/Nature's One
- Danone/Nutricia
- Kendal Nutricare/Kendamil
- Ausnutria/Kabrita
- Bubs/Australia Deloraine Dairy
- ByHeart
- Munchkin, Little Spoon, Nara & Undisclosed Manufacturers
- Specialty Formula Manufacturers
- Who Makes Store-Brand Baby Formula?
- Manufacturer Recall & Regulatory History
- What Does "Manufactured For" Actually Mean?
- How We Identified Formula Manufacturers
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Overall Conclusions
Disclosure: We independently researched formulas for this article. We were not sponsored by any infant formula brand or manufacturer. Manufacturer relationships can change over time and sometimes differ by formula, package size, or production lot. We relied on FDA records, current product labeling, manufacturer documentation, inspection records, and company filings. When we could not independently verify the actual manufacturer, we say so.
Important recall note: ByHeart Whole Nutrition Infant Formula and Nara Organics Whole Milk Organic Infant Formula remain under full recalls and should not be used. We include them because they remain part of FDA's comprehensive U.S. formula records and because their manufacturing histories are relevant to this article.
There Are Far Fewer Formula Manufacturers Than Formula Brands
If you walk through Walmart, Target, CVS, Walgreens, Costco, Sam's Club, Kroger, H-E-B, Meijer, Amazon, and BJ's, it can look like the United States has dozens of competing infant formula manufacturers.
It doesn't.
A surprisingly large portion of the formula aisle can be traced to just a handful of manufacturers:
- Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals manufactures America's enormous private-label formula business, including formulas sold under many major retailer brands.
- Abbott Nutrition manufactures Similac and Abbott's extensive specialty-formula portfolio.
- Mead Johnson Nutrition/Reckitt manufactures Enfamil, Nutramigen, PurAmino, Pregestimil, and related products.
- Bobbie/Nature's One owns U.S. infant-formula manufacturing capacity in Ohio, while some Bobbie products have also been manufactured by Perrigo/PBM.
- Danone/Nutricia is behind Aptamil and portions of the specialty-formula market, while Danone also owns Happy Family Organics.
- Kendal Nutricare manufactures Kendamil.
- Ausnutria manufactures Kabrita.
- Australia Deloraine Dairy, owned by Bubs Australia, manufactures Bubs.
- ByHeart has its own U.S. production and canning facilities, although all ByHeart formula is currently recalled.
- Several newer brands, including Munchkin and Little Spoon, use contract manufacturers whose identities are not prominently disclosed to consumers.
Perhaps the most remarkable part is the store-brand market. Perrigo describes itself as the largest supplier of U.S. store-brand infant formula, and its formula program serves major retailers including Walmart, Sam's Club, Target, Kroger, CVS, Walgreens, Meijer, BJ's, Amazon, H-E-B, Costco, Safeway/Albertsons-associated retailers, and others.
Major Infant Formula Manufacturers at a Glance
Here's a list of the biggest infant formula manufacturers in the United States, where they manufacture formula, and the manufacturing model used.
| Manufacturer | Major U.S. Brands | Production Location(s) | Manufacturing Model |
|---|---|---|---|
| Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals | Most retailer store brands; Good Start Dr. Brown's; contract-manufactured formulas | Georgia, Vermont; Covington, Ohio; Eau Claire, Wisconsin | Owned manufacturing + private label + contract manufacturing |
| Abbott Nutrition | Similac, Alimentum, EleCare, NeoSure, metabolic formulas | Sturgis, Michigan; Columbus, Ohio; Cootehill, Ireland; additional Abbott facilities | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Mead Johnson/Reckitt | Enfamil, Nutramigen, PurAmino, Pregestimil | Zeeland, Michigan; Wanamingo, Minnesota; Evansville, Indiana; additional international production | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Bobbie/Nature's One | Bobbie, Baby's Only | Ohio; some Bobbie cans/lots have also been produced by PBM/Perrigo in Vermont | Owned manufacturing + co-manufacturing |
| Danone/Nutricia | Aptamil, HappyBaby Organics, Nutricia specialty formulas | Ireland, other European facilities; SHS specialty production in United Kingdom | Parent-company manufacturing + specialized subsidiaries |
| Kendal Nutricare | Kendamil, Kendamil Organic, Kendamil Goat | Kendal, United Kingdom and additional European capacity | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Ausnutria | Kabrita | Ommen, Kampen, Leeuwarden, and Heerenveen, Netherlands | Parent-company manufacturing |
| Australia Deloraine Dairy | Bubs | Dandenong South, Victoria, Australia | Bubs-owned manufacturing |
| ByHeart/Blendhouse | ByHeart Whole Nutrition | Allerton, Iowa; Portland, Oregon | Owned manufacturing; currently recalled |
| Munchkin manufacturing partner | Munchkin Original, Munchkin Organic | Canada | Contract manufacturer; legal manufacturer not publicly named by Munchkin |
| Little Spoon manufacturing partner | Little Spoon Organic Whole Milk | United States | Contract manufacturer; identity not publicly disclosed by Little Spoon |
| Nara manufacturing partners | Nara Organics Whole Milk Organic | Europe, including Germany | Toll manufacturing; currently recalled |
Who Makes Each Infant Formula?
In February 2026, FDA launched its first centralized public list of infant formulas marketed in the United States. FDA currently identifies 155 non-exempt product entries, meaning routine formulas intended for healthy, full-term infants.
We used that FDA list as the foundation for the table below. Different forms of the same formula (e.g., powder, concentrated liquid, and ready-to-feed) are combined when the manufacturer is the same, but every distinct formula variety in FDA's current list is represented.
A note about manufacturing locations: A company having several factories does not mean every listed formula comes from every factory. Unless a company or product label identifies the precise production site, we list the manufacturer's known formula-production network rather than pretending we know which factory produced every can.
| Brand/Formula | Brand Owner | Actual Manufacturer | Known Location | Relationship/Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aptamil Care Stage 1 | Danone/Nutricia | Danone/Nutricia | Ireland: Macroom/Wexford | Parent-company manufacturing |
| Aptamil Care Stage 2 | Danone/Nutricia | Danone/Nutricia | Ireland: Macroom/Wexford | Parent-company manufacturing |
| Baby's Only Mehadrin | Nature's One/Bobbie | Nature's One/Bobbie | Ohio, USA | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Bobbie Organic Gentle | Bobbie | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo confirmed for 14.1-oz cans; manufacturing can vary | Georgia, Vermont for confirmed PBM production; Bobbie also operates Ohio manufacturing | Check current can. This is a clear example of a brand using more than one manufacturing source. Note that Bobbie Organic Gentle is the best gentle baby formula of the year! |
| Bobbie Organic | Bobbie | Bobbie/Nature's One; co-manufacturing has also been used by Bobbie | Ohio; verify individual can | Owned manufacturing + possible co-manufacturing |
| Bobbie Organic Whole Milk | Bobbie | Bobbie/Nature's One; production source should be verified on current can | Ohio; verify individual can | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Bobbie Whole Milk | Bobbie | Bobbie/Nature's One; production source should be verified on current can | Ohio; verify individual can | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Bubs 365 Day Grass Fed | Bubs Australia/Aussie Bubs | Australia Deloraine Dairy Pty Ltd | Dandenong South, Victoria, Australia | Bubs-owned manufacturing |
| Bubs Essential | Bubs Australia/Aussie Bubs | Australia Deloraine Dairy Pty Ltd | Dandenong South, Victoria, Australia | Bubs-owned manufacturing |
| Bubs Goat | Bubs Australia/Aussie Bubs | Australia Deloraine Dairy Pty Ltd | Dandenong South, Victoria, Australia | Bubs-owned manufacturing |
| ByHeart Whole Nutrition | ByHeart, Inc. | ByHeart/Blendhouse | Allerton, Iowa production; Portland, Oregon canning | ALL PRODUCTS RECALLED – DO NOT USE. |
| Comforts (Kroger) Advantage Premium; Gentle Premium; Infant Premium; Sensitivity Premium |
Kroger | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | Perrigo U.S. formula network: Vermont, Ohio, Wisconsin; exact plant can vary | Private-label/store-brand manufacturing |
| CVS Health Advantage; Advantage Premium; Gentle; Gentle Premium; Infant; Infant Premium; Organic Whole Milk; Sensitivity; Sensitivity Premium |
CVS Health | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | Perrigo U.S. formula network: Vermont, Ohio, Wisconsin; exact plant can vary | Private-label/store-brand manufacturing |
| Earth's Best Organic Dairy | Earth's Best/The Hain Celestial Group | Current contractor not publicly disclosed; PBM/Perrigo has historically manufactured Earth's Best formula | United States; current specific plant not publicly identified | Contract manufacturing; historical Perrigo relationship |
| Earth's Best Organic Gentle | Earth's Best/The Hain Celestial Group | Current contractor not publicly disclosed; historically PBM/Perrigo | United States; current specific plant not publicly identified | Contract manufacturing |
| Earth's Best Organic Sensitivity | Earth's Best/The Hain Celestial Group | Current contractor not publicly disclosed; historically PBM/Perrigo | United States; current specific plant not publicly identified | Contract manufacturing |
| Enfamil 24 Ready-to-use |
Mead Johnson Nutrition/Reckitt | Mead Johnson & Company/Reckitt | Reckitt formula-manufacturing network; exact facility varies | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Enfamil A.R. Powder; ready-to-use |
Mead Johnson Nutrition/Reckitt | Mead Johnson & Company/Reckitt | Reckitt formula-manufacturing network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Enfamil Gentlease Powder |
Mead Johnson Nutrition/Reckitt | Mead Johnson & Company/Reckitt | Reckitt formula-manufacturing network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Enfamil Infant Powder; concentrated liquid; ready-to-use |
Mead Johnson Nutrition/Reckitt | Mead Johnson & Company/Reckitt | Reckitt formula-manufacturing network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Enfamil NeuroPro Care | Mead Johnson Nutrition/Reckitt | Mead Johnson & Company/Reckitt | Reckitt formula-manufacturing network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Enfamil NeuroPro Gentlease Care | Mead Johnson Nutrition/Reckitt | Mead Johnson & Company/Reckitt | Reckitt formula-manufacturing network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Enfamil NeuroPro Gentlease Powder; ready-to-use |
Mead Johnson Nutrition/Reckitt | Mead Johnson & Company/Reckitt | Reckitt formula-manufacturing network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Enfamil NeuroPro Powder; ready-to-use |
Mead Johnson Nutrition/Reckitt | Mead Johnson & Company/Reckitt | Reckitt formula-manufacturing network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Enfamil Optimum Gentlease Powder; ready-to-use |
Mead Johnson Nutrition/Reckitt | Mead Johnson & Company/Reckitt | Reckitt formula-manufacturing network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Enfamil Optimum Powder; ready-to-use |
Mead Johnson Nutrition/Reckitt | Mead Johnson & Company/Reckitt | Reckitt formula-manufacturing network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Enfamil ProSobee Simply Plant-Based Powder; concentrated liquid; ready-to-use |
Mead Johnson Nutrition/Reckitt | Mead Johnson & Company/Reckitt | Reckitt formula-manufacturing network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Enfamil Reguline | Mead Johnson Nutrition/Reckitt | Mead Johnson & Company/Reckitt | Reckitt formula-manufacturing network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Good Start Dr. Brown's Gentle Pro | Perrigo holds U.S./Canadian Good Start rights | Perrigo | Eau Claire, Wisconsin/Perrigo network | Perrigo acquired Good Start rights and the Gateway facility from Nestlé |
| Good Start Dr. Brown's Soothe Pro | Perrigo | Perrigo | Eau Claire, Wisconsin/Perrigo network | Perrigo manufacturing |
| Good Start Dr. Brown's Soy-Ease Pro | Perrigo | Perrigo | Perrigo U.S. manufacturing network | Perrigo manufacturing |
| HappyBaby Organics A2 Organic | Nurture LLC/Happy Family Organics/Danone | Danone-associated European manufacturing; exact legal plant operator not publicly named on general consumer materials | Europe | Lot-specific traceability available through product QR system |
| HappyBaby Organics Stage 1 | Nurture LLC/Danone | Danone-associated European manufacturing | Europe | Specific plant not broadly disclosed |
| HappyBaby Organics Stage 2 | Nurture LLC/Danone | Danone-associated European manufacturing | Europe | Specific plant not broadly disclosed |
| H-E-B Baby Advantage Premium; Complete Comfort Premium; Gentle; Gentle Premium; Infant; Infant Premium; Sensitivity Premium; Soy |
H-E-B | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | Perrigo U.S. network: Vermont, Ohio, Wisconsin | Private-label manufacturing |
| Kabrita Goat | Kabrita/Ausnutria | Ausnutria B.V. | Ommen, Kampen, Leeuwarden, and Heerenveen, Netherlands | Parent-company manufacturing |
| Kendamil Goat | Kendal Nutricare | Kendal Nutricare | United Kingdom/Europe; production capacity now extends beyond Kendal | Brand-owned manufacturing. Note that Kendamil Goat is the best goat milk formula of the year! |
| Kendamil Infant | Kendal Nutricare | Kendal Nutricare | Kendal, UK and European production network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Kendamil Organic | Kendal Nutricare | Kendal Nutricare | Kendal, UK and European production network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Kirkland Signature ProCare ProCare; ProCare Gentle |
Costco | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | Perrigo U.S. formula network | Private-label manufacturing for Costco |
| Little Spoon Organic Whole Milk | Little Spoon | Not publicly disclosed by Little Spoon | United States | Little Spoon says its partner has 25+ years of infant-formula experience. External sources point toward Perrigo/PBM, but we have not independently verified the current manufacturer from a primary label source, so we are leaving this as undisclosed. Note that Little Spoon is the best organic baby formula of the year! |
| Mama Bear (Amazon) Advantage Premium; Gentle Premium; Infant Premium; Sensitivity Premium; Soy |
Amazon | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | Perrigo U.S. formula network | Private-label manufacturing |
| Meijer Advantage; Advantage Premium; Complete Comfort Premium; Gentle; Gentle Premium; Infant; Infant Premium; Sensitivity; Sensitivity Premium; Soy |
Meijer | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | Perrigo U.S. formula network | Private-label manufacturing |
| Member's Mark (Sam's Club) Advantage Premium; Gentle Premium; Infant Premium; Organic Whole Milk; Sensitivity Premium |
Sam's Club/Walmart | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | Perrigo U.S. formula network | Private-label manufacturing |
| Munchkin Original | Munchkin, Inc. | Manufacturing partner not publicly named by Munchkin | Canada; purpose-built infant-formula plant constructed in 2019 | Contract manufacturing |
| Munchkin Organic | Munchkin, Inc. | Manufacturing partner not publicly named by Munchkin | Canada; same purpose-built facility | Contract manufacturing |
| Nara Organics Whole Milk Organic | Nara Organics | European toll-manufacturing firms not publicly identified by name | Germany/Europe | ALL LOTS RECALLED – DO NOT USE. FDA says two European firms were involved in manufacturing and both received inspection observations. |
| Parent's Choice (Walmart) Advantage; Advantage Premium; Gentle; Gentle Premium; Infant; Infant Premium; Organic Whole Milk; Sensitivity; Sensitivity Premium; Soy |
Walmart | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | Perrigo U.S. network: Vermont, Ohio, Wisconsin | Private-label manufacturing |
| Signature Select (Albertsons) Advantage Premium; Gentle Premium; Infant Premium; Sensitivity Premium |
Albertsons Companies | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | Perrigo U.S. formula network | Private-label manufacturing |
| Similac 360 Total Care Gentle Comfort Powder; ready-to-feed |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network; facility depends on product/form | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Similac 360 Total Care Made with Whole Milk Ready-to-feed |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Similac 360 Total Care Powder; ready-to-feed |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Similac 360 Total Care Sensitive Powder; ready-to-feed |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Similac Advance Kosher (Cholov Yisroel) Ready-to-feed |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Similac Advance Lamehadrin Powder |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Similac Advance Powder; concentrate; ready-to-feed |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Similac Dual Prebiotic Blend Powder; ready-to-feed |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Similac for Spit-Up Ready-to-feed |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Similac Gentle Comfort Powder |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network | Formerly Similac Total Comfort |
| Similac Irish Farms Powder |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Ireland/Abbott international network | Formerly Pure Bliss by Similac Irish Farms |
| Similac Organic Powder; ready-to-feed |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network | Formerly Pure Bliss by Similac Organic |
| Similac Organic with A2 Milk Powder |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network | Formerly Pure Bliss Organic with A2 Milk |
| Similac Sensitive Powder; concentrate; ready-to-feed |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Similac Soy Isomil Powder; concentrate; ready-to-feed |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Similac with Iron 24 Cal Ready-to-feed |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network | Brand-owned manufacturing |
| Tippy Toes (Topco) Advantage Premium; Gentle Premium; Infant Premium; Sensitivity Premium |
Topco/participating retailers | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | Perrigo U.S. formula network | Private-label manufacturing |
| True Goodness by Meijer Organic Whole Milk | Meijer | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | Perrigo U.S. formula network | Private-label manufacturing |
| Up&Up (Target) Advantage; Advantage Premium; Gentle; Gentle Premium; Infant Premium; Organic Whole Milk; Sensitivity Premium; Soy |
Target | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | Perrigo U.S. network: Vermont, Ohio, Wisconsin | Private-label manufacturing |
| Walgreens Advantage Premium; Gentle Premium; Infant Premium; Organic Whole Milk; Sensitivity Premium |
Walgreens | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | Perrigo U.S. formula network | Private-label manufacturing |
| Wellsley Farms (BJ's) Advantage Premium; Gentle Premium; Infant Premium; Sensitivity Premium |
BJ's Wholesale Club | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | Perrigo U.S. formula network | Private-label manufacturing |
One of the biggest takeaways: Walmart, Target, Costco, Sam's Club, CVS, Walgreens, Amazon, Kroger, H-E-B, Meijer, Albertsons-associated stores, Topco stores, and BJ's may look like they offer competing retailer-manufactured formulas, but the underlying manufacturing is overwhelmingly concentrated at Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals.
Who Makes Specialty, Hypoallergenic & Medical Infant Formula?
FDA separately classifies formulas intended for premature infants, infants with cow's-milk protein allergy, metabolic disorders, low birth weight, and other unusual dietary or medical needs as exempt infant formulas.
There are currently 77 such product entries on FDA's comprehensive list. Some are sold at ordinary retailers, while others are primarily distributed through hospitals, pharmacies, medical suppliers, or healthcare providers.
Specialty Formulas Generally Available to Parents
| Formula | Brand/Owner | Actual Manufacturer | Known Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alfamino Infant | Nestlé Health Science | Nestlé Health Science | Historically/currently supplied through Nestlé's international specialty network; Alfamino has been produced in Switzerland |
| EleCare | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott formula network |
| Enfamil NeuroPro EnfaCare Powder; ready-to-use |
Mead Johnson/Reckitt | Mead Johnson/Reckitt | Reckitt manufacturing network |
| Extensive HA | Nestlé Health Science | Nestlé Health Science | Netherlands/Nestlé specialty network |
| Neocate Infant | Nutricia/Danone | SHS International, Ltd. | United Kingdom |
| Neocate Syneo Infant | Nutricia/Danone | SHS International, Ltd. | United Kingdom |
| Nutramigen Powder with LGG; concentrated liquid; ready-to-use |
Mead Johnson/Reckitt | Mead Johnson/Reckitt | Reckitt manufacturing network; powder has been produced at Zeeland, Michigan |
| Parent's Choice Hypoallergenic | Walmart | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | United States |
| Pepticate | Nutricia/Danone | SHS International, Ltd. | United Kingdom |
| Pregestimil Powder; 20 Cal RTF; 24 Cal RTF |
Mead Johnson/Reckitt | Mead Johnson/Reckitt | Reckitt manufacturing network |
| PurAmino | Mead Johnson/Reckitt | Mead Johnson/Reckitt | Reckitt manufacturing network |
| Similac Alimentum Powder; ready-to-feed |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott manufacturing network |
| Similac NeoSure 22 Cal Powder; ready-to-feed |
Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Nutrition | Abbott manufacturing network |
| Up&Up Hypoallergenic | Target | PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo | United States |
Hospital, Premature, Metabolic & Institutional Formulas
| Manufacturer | FDA-Listed Products | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Abbott Nutrition | Abbott Liquid Protein Fortifier; Calcilo XD; Cyclinex-1; Glutarex-1; Hominex-1; I-Valex-1; Ketonex-1; Phenex-1; Pro-Phree; Propimex-1; ProViMin; RCF; Similac Human Milk Fortifier; Similac Human Milk Fortifier Extensively Hydrolyzed Protein; Similac PM 60/40; Similac Special Care Premature 20 Cal; 24 Cal; 24 Cal High Protein; 30 Cal; Tyrex-1 | Abbott-manufactured specialty, metabolic, premature, and fortification products |
| Mead Johnson/Reckitt | 3232A; BCAD 1; Enfamil Human Milk Fortifier High Protein; Enfamil Human Milk Fortifier Standard Protein; Enfamil Liquid Protein Fortifier; Enfamil Premature 20 Cal; 24 Cal; 24 Cal High Protein; 30 Cal; Enfaport; GA; HCY 1; LMD; OA 1; Phenyl-Free 1; TYROS 1; WND 1 | Mead Johnson/Reckitt specialty, metabolic, premature, and fortification products |
| SHS International/Nutricia | Fortini; GA1 Anamix Early Years; HCU Anamix Early Years; IVA Anamix Early Years; MMA/PA Anamix Early Years; MSUD Anamix Early Years; PKU Periflex Early Years; SOD Anamix Early Years; TYR Anamix Early Years | FDA explicitly identifies SHS International in the United Kingdom as manufacturer and Nutricia North America as distributor/brand |
| Vitaflo/Nestlé Health Science | PKU start | Specialized metabolic nutrition |
| Prolacta Bioscience | Prolact RTF 24; Prolact RTF 26; Prolact RTF 28; Prolact +4 H2MF; +6 H2MF; +8 H2MF; +10 H2MF; Prolact CR; Surgifort | Human-milk-based premature formulas and fortifiers; manufactured in U.S. FDA-regulated facilities, including City of Industry, California |
Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals: The Company Behind America's Store-Brand Formula
If there is one company parents should know after reading this article, it is Perrigo.
Perrigo's infant-formula business came largely from its acquisition of PBM Holdings. Perrigo announced the $808 million acquisition in 2010, describing PBM at the time as the world's largest manufacturer and marketer of store-brand infant formula.
PBM had already spent years building the private-label formula category. It acquired a Vermont formula facility in 2005 and a Covington, Ohio facility in 2009 before becoming part of Perrigo.
Then, in 2022, Perrigo significantly expanded again. It purchased Nestlé's Gateway infant formula manufacturing plant in Eau Claire, Wisconsin, along with the U.S. and Canadian rights to the Good Start infant-formula brand. Perrigo said the investment would bring its U.S. infant-formula network to facilities in Vermont, Ohio, and Wisconsin.
That means Perrigo is not merely making one generic formula for one retailer.
Its manufacturing network sits behind an enormous portion of the American store-brand formula aisle.
| Retailer/Brand | Formula Manufacturer |
|---|---|
| Walmart/Parent's Choice | Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals |
| Target/Up&Up | Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals |
| Costco/Kirkland Signature | Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals |
| Sam's Club/Member's Mark | Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals |
| CVS Health | Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals |
| Walgreens | Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals |
| Kroger/Comforts | Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals |
| Amazon/Mama Bear | Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals |
| H-E-B Baby | Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals |
| Meijer | Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals |
| Albertsons/Signature Select | Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals |
| Topco/Tippy Toes | Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals |
| BJ's/Wellsley Farms | Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals |
Perrigo also manufactures formula outside conventional retailer labels. It owns U.S./Canadian Good Start rights and has contract-manufacturing relationships with other formula companies.
This explains why two formulas with very different packaging – or even two formulas sold by supposedly competing retailers – can have remarkably similar ingredient lists, nutrition panels, preparation instructions, and container designs.
That does not mean every Perrigo-made formula is identical. Perrigo manufactures multiple formulations, including standard milk-based, gentle, sensitivity, soy, organic, whole-milk, and hypoallergenic formulas. Retailer specifications can also change over time.
Abbott Nutrition: The Manufacturer Behind Similac
Abbott is one of America's oldest and largest healthcare companies. Dr. Wallace C. Abbott began the business in Chicago in 1888. Abbott entered what would become a major nutrition business in 1964 when it acquired M&R Dietetics and the Similac brand.
Today, Abbott manufactures the enormous Similac portfolio along with Alimentum, EleCare, NeoSure, premature formulas, metabolic formulas, and human-milk fortifiers.
Known facilities relevant to the U.S. formula supply include:
- Sturgis, Michigan – a major powdered-formula facility.
- Columbus, Ohio – important ready-to-feed liquid formula production.
- Cootehill, Ireland – FDA-registered Abbott production that has supplied Similac powder to the United States.
- Additional Abbott international nutrition facilities that can supply particular products and markets.
The precise factory therefore depends on the particular Similac formula and its form. A Similac ready-to-feed bottle and a can of powdered Similac should not automatically be assumed to have come from the same factory.
Mead Johnson/Reckitt: The Manufacturer Behind Enfamil
Mead Johnson & Company dates to 1905 and has been involved in pediatric nutrition for more than a century. Reckitt acquired Mead Johnson Nutrition in 2017, bringing the Enfamil and Nutramigen families into Reckitt.
Mead Johnson's U.S. headquarters are in Evansville, Indiana, which Reckitt describes as home to its largest U.S. research-and-development and manufacturing center.
Other important U.S. formula facilities include Zeeland, Michigan and Wanamingo, Minnesota. Mead Johnson also operates an international manufacturing network, so the precise source can vary by product.
Mead Johnson/Reckitt is responsible for an extensive portfolio that goes well beyond ordinary Enfamil Infant, including Gentlease, NeuroPro, ProSobee, Reguline, EnfaCare, Nutramigen, Pregestimil, PurAmino, premature formulas, human-milk fortifiers, and metabolic formulas.
Bobbie/Nature's One: An Especially Interesting Manufacturing Story
Bobbie is one of the best examples of why identifying a formula's manufacturer is more complicated than simply identifying its brand.
Bobbie launched as a newer premium infant-formula company and initially relied heavily on outside manufacturing. In 2023, Bobbie acquired Nature's One, giving it its own infant-nutrition manufacturing facility in Ohio. Bobbie subsequently expanded that facility, and its current consumer materials emphasize owned, vertically integrated U.S. manufacturing.
Bobbie now says its infant formulas are produced at its owned and operated U.S. manufacturing facility, with ingredient handling, formula manufacturing, canning, and packaging under one roof.
But there is an important wrinkle.
A Bobbie healthcare-professional concentration chart dated September 2025 specifically states that its 14.1-ounce Bobbie Organic Gentle cans were manufactured at PBM Nutritionals LLC in Georgia, Vermont, and instructs healthcare professionals to check individual can labels.
That means the safest answer to "Who makes Bobbie?" is:
Bobbie owns and operates infant-formula manufacturing in Ohio, but at least some Bobbie production has also been performed by Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals. Check the "Manufactured By" statement on the individual can when the exact production source matters.
This is not inherently concerning. Large food and nutrition companies routinely use multiple qualified production sources. But it is a perfect demonstration of why brand ownership and physical manufacturing should not be treated as interchangeable.
Danone/Nutricia: Aptamil, HappyBaby & Specialty Nutrition
Danone became a much larger infant- and medical-nutrition company when it acquired Royal Numico in 2007, bringing Nutricia and more than a century of specialized nutrition expertise into the Danone group.
Aptamil
Aptamil's manufacturing is relatively transparent. Danone says its Macroom, Ireland facility produces infant-formula base powder, while formula is finished and packaged at its large Wexford, Ireland facility. Aptamil is specifically identified among the brands produced through this network.
HappyBaby Organics
Happy Family Organics is part of Danone. The company says its current U.S. formulas are made in an FDA-registered European facility and offers lot-level traceability through QR codes on the package.
However, its general consumer materials do not prominently identify the legal name of the individual manufacturing plant. For that reason, we list the precise plant as not publicly disclosed rather than filling in an assumed Danone facility.
Nutricia/SHS International
FDA is unusually explicit about several Nutricia specialty formulas: Nutricia North America is the distributor and brand, while SHS International, Ltd. in the United Kingdom is the manufacturer.
This includes Neocate, Pepticate, Fortini, and several specialized metabolic formulas.
Kendal Nutricare: Who Makes Kendamil?
Kendamil is made by the British family-owned company Kendal Nutricare.
The company's main Kendal facility in England's Lake District opened in 1962 as a center for infant-formula production. The McMahon family took over the factory in 2015, and the Kendamil brand was launched in 2016.
Kendamil's manufacturing footprint has since expanded. Kendal Nutricare now refers to its factories in Kendal and Europe, and its U.S. materials emphasize that the entire infant-formula range remains European-made.
For that reason, we would no longer automatically describe every U.S. Kendamil can as having been manufactured specifically at the Kendal factory. The safest description is manufactured by Kendal Nutricare in its UK/European production network, with the individual package providing the best information about a particular lot.
There is also an important recall distinction. Some parents may find references online to a 2021 U.S. recall involving Kendamil. That action involved Able Groupe, a third-party importer that was selling European formulas in the United States without satisfying U.S. infant-formula requirements. It should not be confused with a manufacturing contamination recall of today's FDA-marketed U.S. Kendamil formulas.
Ausnutria: Who Makes Kabrita?
Kabrita is one of the easier brands to trace.
Kabrita is manufactured by its parent company, Ausnutria B.V., in the Netherlands. Kabrita says its FDA-registered production locations include Ommen, Kampen, Leeuwarden, and Heerenveen.
Ausnutria has more than 75 years of formula experience, and Kabrita emphasizes that its parent company controls much of the supply chain from Dutch goat farms through formula production.
Kabrita's infant formula entered the U.S. market in 2024.
Australia Deloraine Dairy: Who Makes Bubs?
Bubs is another unusually transparent example.
Bubs product labeling identifies the manufacturer as:
Australia Deloraine Dairy Pty Ltd
Dandenong South, Victoria, Australia
with Aussie Bubs Incorporated in San Francisco serving as the U.S. distributor.
Bubs Australia acquired Australia Deloraine Dairy in 2019 as part of a strategy to gain greater control over its infant-formula supply chain. That makes this substantially different from a startup simply hiring an unrelated white-label manufacturer.
The Bubs 365 Day Grass Fed, Bubs Essential, and Bubs Goat formulas on FDA's U.S. list all trace back to this Bubs manufacturing system.
ByHeart: U.S. Manufacturing, But Currently Under Full Recall
ByHeart built an unusually vertically integrated U.S. manufacturing system for a newer formula company.
The batches involved in the 2025 recall were produced at ByHeart's facility in Allerton, Iowa and canned at its facility in Portland, Oregon. ByHeart also owns a facility in Reading, Pennsylvania, although that facility has not produced formula for market since 2023.
ByHeart's regulatory history is substantial and is discussed in more detail below.
Most importantly, all ByHeart Whole Nutrition Infant Formula remains recalled. The 2025-2026 infant-botulism outbreak ultimately included 48 infants across 17 states; all were hospitalized and no deaths were reported. CDC declared the outbreak over on February 26, 2026, but the product recall remained in place and ByHeart reported that production remained paused.
FDA testing linked Clostridium botulinum found in finished ByHeart formula and an affected infant to isolates found in organic whole-milk powder used in production. FDA's subsequent work has focused heavily on the ingredient supply chain and supplier controls.
Munchkin, Little Spoon & Nara: When the Manufacturer Isn't Disclosed
Newer formula brands have created some of the most interesting transparency questions.
Who Makes Munchkin Infant Formula?
Munchkin says its new infant formulas are made at a purpose-built infant-nutrition facility in Canada that opened in 2019.
According to Munchkin, milk reception, pasteurization, drying, blending, filling, and packaging all happen at the same site, which is registered with FDA and inspected by both FDA and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.
What Munchkin does not prominently disclose is the legal identity of its manufacturing partner.
There are clues that could be used to speculate about which Canadian company operates the facility, but we don't think speculation belongs in a transparency article. Until we can verify the manufacturer from Munchkin, FDA documentation, or current product labeling, our answer is:
Manufacturer: Not publicly disclosed by Munchkin.
Manufacturing location: Canada.
Who Makes Little Spoon Infant Formula?
Little Spoon takes a similar approach.
Little Spoon says its Organic Whole Milk Infant Formula is made in the United States by a manufacturing partner with more than 25 years of infant-formula experience.
But Little Spoon does not name that company in its public manufacturing FAQ.
Other industry sources have identified Perrigo/PBM as Little Spoon's white-label manufacturing partner. That identification is plausible given Perrigo's contract-manufacturing business and U.S. production footprint, but we have not yet found a current Little Spoon primary-source document or current package label that conclusively names PBM.
Therefore, we are deliberately listing Little Spoon's manufacturer as not publicly disclosed.
Who Made Nara Organics?
Nara described its manufacturing arrangement as toll manufacturing: Nara owned and controlled its formula recipe while an experienced German infant-formula manufacturer physically produced it.
Nara said its primary German partner had more than 70 years of infant-formula manufacturing experience but did not publicly identify the company by name.
During FDA's 2026 infant-botulism investigation, an additional detail became public: FDA said it had inspected two firms that manufacture Nara formula in Europe, and both facilities received inspection observations.
FDA still did not publicly name those two firms in its outbreak update.
Third-party reporting has attempted to identify Nara's European manufacturers, but because FDA and Nara have not clearly confirmed the legal manufacturers in the public records we reviewed, we are listing them as undisclosed European toll manufacturers.
All Nara infant formula was recalled on June 13, 2026. FDA ultimately confirmed four infant-botulism cases associated with Nara. The outbreak was declared over August 27, 2026, but the recalled product should no longer be sold or used.
Other Specialty Formula Manufacturers
Nestlé Health Science
Nestlé Health Science remains an important specialty-formula manufacturer even though Perrigo acquired the U.S. Good Start business and Eau Claire facility from Nestlé in 2022.
FDA currently attributes Alfamino Infant and Extensive HA to Nestlé Health Science. During the 2022 formula shortage, Nestlé publicly identified Alfamino as coming from Switzerland and Extensive HA as coming from the Netherlands.
Prolacta Bioscience
Prolacta occupies a very different part of the formula market. Its products are made from pasteurized donor human milk and are designed primarily for premature and medically fragile infants in hospitals.
Prolacta operates U.S. facilities in California, including its specialized manufacturing operation in City of Industry.
Why Do So Many Store-Brand Formulas Come From Perrigo?
Store brands work differently from national formula brands.
Walmart does not need to build an infant-formula factory to sell Parent's Choice. Target doesn't need one to sell Up&Up, and Costco doesn't need one to sell Kirkland Signature.
Instead, retailers contract with an established infant-formula manufacturer.
In the United States, that manufacturer is overwhelmingly Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals.
This model has several advantages. One manufacturer can operate expensive specialized formula infrastructure at large scale while retailers compete on distribution, package size, pricing, and branding.
It also explains why store-brand formulas from different retailers can sometimes appear almost interchangeable.
But parents should not assume that two formulas are identical merely because Perrigo makes both. Perrigo owns and produces multiple formula recipes, and formulas can differ in protein source, carbohydrate composition, prebiotics, HMOs, milk fat, DHA/ARA, hydrolysis, and other ingredients.
The important transparency point isn't "all store-brand formulas are the same."
It's that many seemingly independent formula brands share the same underlying manufacturer.
Infant Formula Manufacturer Recall & Regulatory History
Recall history needs to be interpreted carefully.
A recall involving one lot of one product does not mean every product made by that company was recalled, and a packaging problem is not equivalent to a pathogen-associated outbreak.
We therefore think the most useful approach is to identify the important event, the reason, and the scope.
| Manufacturer | Date | Product/Event | What Happened |
|---|---|---|---|
| Abbott Nutrition | February 2022 | Similac, Alimentum, EleCare and later one Similac PM 60/40 lot | Major recall of certain powders produced in Sturgis, Michigan during FDA investigation of infant Cronobacter illness reports. FDA found multiple Cronobacter strains in the plant environment, while tested finished-product samples were negative and available patient isolates did not genetically match the environmental strains. |
| Abbott Nutrition | October 2022 | Certain 2-fl-oz ready-to-feed products | Limited recall from the Columbus, Ohio facility because a small percentage of bottle caps might not have sealed completely, creating a potential spoilage risk. |
| Perrigo | June 2019 | Parent's Choice Advantage | 23,388 containers from one lot recalled because of the potential presence of metal foreign material. No adverse events were reported. |
| Perrigo | March 2023 | Gerber Good Start SoothePro | Selected lots produced at the Eau Claire, Wisconsin facility were recalled for potential Cronobacter sakazakii contamination. Perrigo stated no distributed product tested positive and no adverse events were reported. |
| Perrigo | August 2023 | FDA Warning Letter – Eau Claire/Perrigo Wisconsin | FDA cited deficiencies related to microbiological process controls following inspections and Cronobacter findings. |
| Perrigo | August 2024 | Limited H-E-B/CVS premium infant formula batches | One batch was recalled after routine testing identified elevated vitamin D. No adverse events had been reported. |
| Mead Johnson/Reckitt | February 2023 | Enfamil ProSobee Simply Plant-Based | Two batches, approximately 145,000 cans, recalled because of possible Cronobacter cross-contamination linked to material from a third-party supplier. Distributed product tested negative and no illnesses were reported. |
| Mead Johnson/Reckitt | August 2023 | FDA Warning Letter – Zeeland, MI & Wanamingo, MN | FDA cited significant infant-formula manufacturing violations, including microbiological process-control concerns. |
| Mead Johnson/Reckitt | December 2023 | Nutramigen powder | Selected batches were recalled following a Cronobacter-positive result during Israeli border sampling. Mead Johnson's own tested product was negative and no illnesses were reported. |
| ByHeart | December 2022 | Five ByHeart batches | Recalled for potential Cronobacter cross-contamination associated with third-party packaging. No distributed product had tested positive and no illnesses were reported. |
| ByHeart | August 2023 | FDA Warning Letter | FDA cited deficiencies involving microbiological process controls following inspection of ByHeart's infant-formula operations. |
| ByHeart | November 2025 | All ByHeart Whole Nutrition formula | Recall expanded to every can and Anywhere Pack during a multistate infant-botulism outbreak. Final investigation included 48 illnesses in 17 states, all hospitalized, with no deaths. Formula remains recalled. |
| Nara Organics/contract manufacturers | June 2026 | All Nara Organics infant formula | All lots recalled during an infant-botulism outbreak. FDA ultimately confirmed four cases and identified supply-chain overlap with the preceding ByHeart outbreak. The outbreak ended in August 2026; recalled formula should not be used. |
What about manufacturers not shown above? During our research, we did not identify a comparable recent U.S. infant-formula recall involving the current FDA-marketed Kabrita, Bubs, or Munchkin infant formulas. That statement is not intended to mean that a company has never experienced any recall, quality event, or regulatory action anywhere in the world; it reflects the U.S. infant-formula events we were able to verify during this review.
What Do "Manufactured By," "Manufactured For," and "Distributed By" Actually Mean?
This might be the most useful trick in the entire article.
Turn your formula can around and look for the company statement near the ingredient, nutrition, or contact information.
FDA food-labeling guidance requires a food label to identify the manufacturer, packer, or distributor. If the company whose address appears on the label is not the actual manufacturer, the label should use qualifying wording such as "Manufactured for" or "Distributed by."
| Label Language | What It Usually Tells You |
|---|---|
| Manufactured by Company X | Company X is identifying itself as the manufacturer. This is the strongest consumer-facing clue to the actual producer. |
| Manufactured for Company X | Company X owns or markets the product, but another company may physically manufacture it. |
| Distributed by Company X | Company X distributes or markets the product and should not automatically be assumed to be the manufacturer. |
| Product of [Country] | Useful country-of-origin information, but not necessarily the legal identity of the manufacturer. |
There is an important limitation: the business address printed on a package is not necessarily the factory address. It can be the company's principal place of business.
That's why simply Googling the address on a formula can sometimes leads parents to a corporate office rather than the facility where the powder was made.
White Label vs. Contract Manufacturing vs. Toll Manufacturing
| Manufacturing Model | What It Means | Example |
|---|---|---|
| Brand-owned manufacturing | The company owns/operates production infrastructure and makes its own formula. | Abbott/Similac; Mead Johnson/Enfamil; Kendal Nutricare/Kendamil |
| Private label/white label | A specialized manufacturer owns or produces a formula that another company sells under its own retail brand. | Perrigo producing Parent's Choice, Up&Up, Member's Mark, Kirkland and other store brands |
| Contract manufacturing | A brand hires another qualified manufacturer to physically produce its formula. | Little Spoon's unnamed U.S. manufacturing partner |
| Toll manufacturing | The brand controls a proprietary recipe and hires another facility to produce that formula to its specification. | Nara's European manufacturing model |
| Co-manufacturing | A brand with its own manufacturing may also rely on another manufacturer for certain products, sizes, or production capacity. | Bobbie's combination of owned Ohio production and documented PBM/Perrigo production |
How We Determined Who Makes Each Infant Formula
We wanted this article to be more rigorous than simply repeating claims from retailer listings or other parenting websites.
Our starting point was FDA's 2026 comprehensive list of infant formulas marketed in the United States. FDA introduced this centralized resource in February 2026 specifically as part of an effort to improve transparency for families and healthcare providers.
From there, we attempted to identify the manufacturer using, in roughly descending order of confidence:
- FDA manufacturer listings, inspection records, warning letters, recalls, and regulatory documents.
- The "Manufactured By" statement from current formula labeling.
- Manufacturer and brand documentation identifying manufacturing facilities.
- Corporate filings, acquisitions, and manufacturing announcements.
- Healthcare-professional product specification sheets.
- Retailer label reproductions where primary materials were unavailable.
- Credible secondary evidence only when primary evidence could not be located.
When evidence conflicted, we generally chose the more conservative answer.
For example, if a brand says "made in the USA by our trusted manufacturing partner" but doesn't identify that company, we do not automatically publish the name of a manufacturer simply because another company or website claims to know it.
We would rather write "not publicly disclosed" than give parents false certainty.
We also distinguish among:
Brand owner ≠ manufacturer ≠ manufacturing plant ≠ distributor.
Those terms are often treated as interchangeable online. They aren't.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who manufactures Parent's Choice infant formula?
Parent's Choice infant formula sold by Walmart is manufactured by PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo. Perrigo operates infant-formula manufacturing facilities in Vermont, Ohio, and Wisconsin, although the exact facility can vary by product and production lot.
Who manufactures Costco Kirkland infant formula?
Kirkland Signature infant formula is manufactured through Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals, the same major private-label formula manufacturer behind many other U.S. retailer brands.
Who makes Member's Mark infant formula?
Member's Mark infant formula sold by Sam's Club is manufactured by Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals.
Who makes Target Up&Up infant formula?
Target's Up&Up infant formulas are manufactured by Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals. FDA also specifically identifies PBM Nutritionals, a wholly owned Perrigo subsidiary, as manufacturer of Up&Up Hypoallergenic.
Who makes CVS infant formula?
CVS Health store-brand infant formula is manufactured by Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals.
Who makes Walgreens infant formula?
Walgreens store-brand infant formulas are manufactured by Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals.
Who makes H-E-B infant formula?
H-E-B Baby store-brand formulas are manufactured by Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals.
Who makes Amazon Mama Bear formula?
Amazon's Mama Bear infant-formula line is manufactured by Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals.
Who makes Meijer infant formula?
Meijer infant formulas, including the True Goodness organic whole-milk formula, are part of Perrigo's private-label formula program.
Are Parent's Choice, Up&Up, Member's Mark, and Kirkland formula the same?
They share a manufacturer, but that does not automatically make every formula identical. Perrigo produces multiple formulations. Compare current ingredient lists and Nutrition Facts panels rather than assuming two formulas are exactly the same because they come from the same manufacturer.
Who manufactures Good Start formula?
Perrigo acquired the U.S. and Canadian rights to Good Start and Nestlé's Gateway infant-formula plant in Eau Claire, Wisconsin in 2022. The current Good Start Dr. Brown's formulas are part of Perrigo's infant-nutrition business.
Who manufactures Similac?
Similac is manufactured by Abbott Nutrition. Abbott's U.S. and international manufacturing network includes major facilities in Sturgis, Michigan; Columbus, Ohio; and Cootehill, Ireland, among others. The specific facility depends on the formula and product form.
Who manufactures Enfamil?
Enfamil is manufactured by Mead Johnson Nutrition, which has been part of Reckitt since 2017. Its U.S. manufacturing network includes facilities in Michigan, Minnesota, and Indiana, with additional international production.
Who manufactures Bobbie formula?
Bobbie owns and operates infant-formula manufacturing in Ohio following its acquisition of Nature's One. However, at least some Bobbie formulas/lots have also been produced by PBM Nutritionals/Perrigo. A Bobbie HCP document specifically identifies 14.1-ounce Organic Gentle cans manufactured in Georgia, Vermont by PBM. Check the individual can for the most precise answer.
Who manufactures Kendamil?
Kendamil is manufactured by family-owned Kendal Nutricare. Its historic primary plant is in Kendal, England, but the company now describes infant-formula production across facilities in Kendal and Europe.
Who manufactures Kabrita?
Kabrita is manufactured in the Netherlands by its parent company Ausnutria. Kabrita identifies FDA-registered production locations in Ommen, Kampen, Leeuwarden, and Heerenveen.
Who manufactures Bubs infant formula?
Bubs formula is manufactured by Australia Deloraine Dairy Pty Ltd in Dandenong South, Victoria, Australia. Bubs Australia owns Australia Deloraine Dairy.
Who manufactures Munchkin infant formula?
Munchkin says its formula is produced in a purpose-built Canadian infant-nutrition facility that opened in 2019 and is registered with FDA and inspected by Canadian regulators. Munchkin does not prominently identify the legal manufacturing partner, so we currently classify the manufacturer as not publicly disclosed.
Who manufactures Little Spoon infant formula?
Little Spoon says its infant formula is manufactured in the United States by a partner with more than 25 years of infant-formula experience, but it does not publicly name that partner in its manufacturing FAQ. Other evidence points toward Perrigo/PBM, but until we can independently verify a current package label or primary document, we classify the manufacturer as undisclosed.
Who manufactures Nara Organics formula?
Nara used toll manufacturing in Europe and described its principal partner as a German infant-formula manufacturer with more than 70 years of experience. Nara did not publicly name that company. FDA subsequently said two European firms manufactured Nara formula but also did not name them in its public outbreak update. All Nara formula is currently recalled.
Is ByHeart formula currently available?
It should not be. All ByHeart Whole Nutrition Infant Formula was recalled during the 2025 infant-botulism outbreak. Although the outbreak was declared over in February 2026, the recall remained in place and ByHeart reported that production was paused.
Why does my formula say "Distributed by" instead of "Manufactured by"?
Because the company whose name is most prominent on the package may be the distributor rather than the physical manufacturer. FDA labeling rules permit the manufacturer, packer, or distributor to be identified, but qualifying language such as "Distributed by" or "Manufactured for" is required when the named firm is not the actual manufacturer.
Can the manufacturer of my formula change?
Yes. Brands can add factories, purchase manufacturing facilities, change contract manufacturers, or use multiple qualified facilities simultaneously. Bobbie is a particularly clear example. That's why the current can label and lot-specific information are more reliable than assuming a manufacturing relationship remains permanent.
Does sharing a manufacturer mean two formulas are identical?
No. A single manufacturer may produce many recipes. Some private-label formulas are extremely similar across retailers, but others differ substantially. Always compare the actual ingredient list and nutrition panel.
Overall Conclusions: The Formula Aisle Isn't What It Looks Like
The biggest thing we learned while researching this article is that the number of formula brands dramatically overstates the number of actual formula manufacturers.
A parent might reasonably assume that Parent's Choice, Up&Up, Kirkland Signature, Member's Mark, CVS Health, Walgreens, Mama Bear, Comforts, H-E-B Baby, Meijer, Tippy Toes, Signature Select, and Wellsley Farms represent a dozen different formula manufacturers.
In reality, they largely lead back to the same place:
Perrigo/PBM Nutritionals.
Likewise, the enormous Similac family is Abbott Nutrition, while the Enfamil family and many well-known specialty products are Mead Johnson/Reckitt.
The newer premium brands make the picture more interesting.
Kabrita is manufactured by parent company Ausnutria in the Netherlands. Bubs identifies Australia Deloraine Dairy directly on its labeling. Kendamil is manufactured by Kendal Nutricare. Bobbie now owns substantial U.S. manufacturing infrastructure but has also used Perrigo/PBM production. Munchkin tells parents a great deal about its Canadian factory without identifying the company operating it. Little Spoon tells parents it has an experienced American manufacturing partner but doesn't publicly name the partner. Nara promoted its German toll-manufacturing relationship without identifying the company behind the factory.
None of those manufacturing models is automatically good or bad.
Owned manufacturing does not guarantee that a company will never have a recall, and contract manufacturing does not mean a formula is lower quality.
What matters to us is that parents can understand the relationship.
If the company on the front of a formula can didn't actually manufacture the formula, we think parents should be able to find out who did.
If a retailer sells the same manufacturer's formula under a different label, parents should be able to know that too.
And when the actual manufacturer cannot be determined from reliable public information, the most transparent answer isn't to guess.
It's simply: We don't know yet.
We'll continue updating this guide as formulas enter or leave the U.S. market, manufacturers change, production facilities expand, and better manufacturing information becomes available.
Related Content
Grownsy EaseClean Bottle Washer Pro Review & Videos
The newest addition to Grownsy's growing arsenal of baby products, this new EaseClean...
Grownsy DeepClean Baby Bottle Washer Review & Video
The new DeepClean by Grownsy is an all-in-one baby bottle washer, sterilizer, and dryer,...
Baby Brezza Sterilizer Dryer Mini Review & Video
The newest addition to the Baby Brezza arsenal of baby bottle sterilizers, the new One...
Best Bottle Washers & Sterilizers of 2026, Tested & Reviewed
We all know that the gold standard for sterilizing a baby bottle is to place it in a pot...